Bible Reading Update for April 2022

The month of April flew by with Easter and finishing up the BSF year. The last class of BSF was last Monday night. The leaders will have a final meeting this Saturday. It is a time of fellowship and sharing about the past study of Matthew. I am stepping out of leadership (as a Children’s Leader) to take part in other leadership roles, primarily at my parish. In BSF we call it stepping out and stepping in. So, I am stepping out. I love BSF and plan to take part in the next study as a member only. The study will be a new one: People of the Promise: Kingdom Divided.

Link for the studies in BSF.

Link for the about page for BSF.

In the month of April, I continued to read from the following devotional books:
Our Daily BreadTake My Heart, Oh God: Riches from the Greatest Christian Women Writers of All TimeDaily LightFighting Words: 100 Days of Speaking Truth into the Darkness by Ellie HolcombTruth for Life: 365 Daily Devotions by Alistair Begg.

For the Hebrews Challenge-Hebrews 12 times in 12 translations. I read from two different translations:
King James Version. New King James Version.

In reading through the whole Bible, I read in the ESV:
1 Peter
2 Peter
1 John
2 John
3 John
Jude
Revelation
Acts

I’ve moved away from using the Lesson plans for Bible reading in the Book of Common Prayer. I am going to concentrate on finishing the OT. Not necessarily in order of how they are in the Bible. I am currently reading 1 Samuel. All the OT will be read in the NASB-1995-large print.

How am I doing in memorizing the Bible? Making progress. I am working on memorizing Ephesians 3:14-19. I only have verses 14-16 memorized. I’m memorizing it in the ESV.

14 For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, 15 from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, 16 that according to the riches of his glory he may grant you to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith—that you, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, 19 and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with all the fullness of God. ESV.

I have started back in reading along with the She Reads Truth app. The current Bible reading is 1 Timothy.

I have a strong interest in reading books about the early Church and Christians who were writers during this period. I have three smallish books about St. Benedict. These books are Life and Miracles of St. Benedict, St. Benedict’s Rule for Monasteries (devotional), and Always We Begin Again: The Benedictine Way of Living by John McQuiston II.

All Scripture references are courtesy of Bible Gateway.

Are you reading your Bible?