[Review] How to Read the Bible as Literature…and get more out of it by Leland Ryken

Publisher and Publication Date: Zondervan. 1984.
Genre: Christian nonfiction. Reference.
Pages: 208.
Format: Paperback.
Source: Self-purchase.
Rating: Good to very good.

Link for the book @ Thriftbooks.

Website for Leland Ryken.

Summary:

To read the Bible as literature means to understand that it is more than a theology book to be read and studied, but it is a varied source of literary styles.

Examples of chapters:

  1. “Is the Bible Literature?”
  2. “Satire.”
  3. Poetry.
  4. Proverbs.
  5. The epistle letters in the New Testament.
  6. “Parables.”

A total of 12 chapters in all, plus an appendix titled, “The Allegorical Nature of the Parables.”

My Thoughts:

Goodreads states this book was published in 1985. My copy states 1984. I’m surprised this book has not been updated for a new edition. I notice on the Leland Ryken website there is further information on this book and subject.

I love reading and studying the Bible. I love reading the Bible using different Bible reading plans. I enjoy Bible studies. I enjoy memorizing Bible verses. But reading the Bible by seeing it as literature is different. Not a bad different. But it is different because I don’t hear of other writers discussing this., and it is not something I think about. It is a new and fresh approach to reading the Bible. It uses a different part of my brain. I come away from the different practice with a feel that I’ve used the other part of my brain.

“Literature always calls for interpretation. It expresses its meanings by a certain indirection. The statement that ‘our neighbor is anyone whom we encounter need of our help’ is direct and requires no interpretation. By comparison, Jesus’ parable of the good Samaritan requires a reader to determine what the details in the story add up to.” Page 22-23.

“Literature is an interpretive presentation of human experience.” page 23.

“The major literary genres are narrative or story, poetry (especially lyric poetry), proverb, and visionary writing (including prophecy and apocalypse). Page 26.

What I like about this book:

  1. I love the side notes that outline and clarify the content.
  2. I love the condense view of the book. It is not a lenghty explaination of the topics.
  3. Chapter Four is on “The Poetry of the Bible.” Psalm 1 is studied. The metaphor, simile, personification, hyperbole, and figures of speech are explored.
  4. I also like the chapter on “Satire.” This is a word I don’t think about when reading the Bible. “Satire is the exposure, through ridicule or rebuke, of human vice or folly.” Page 159.
  5. At the end of each chapter is a further reading list.

I’d like to see more Bible verses studied with the literary styles.
I’d like to see the book updated in a new edition-a lengthier book.

Leave a comment